Friday, August 12, 2016

Women In The World: 6

Good morning everybody! 
I'm so grateful that it's Friday and the weekend is finally here. My Women In The World series has grown to be my absolute favorite posts to write. There's something about getting to know all of these amazing people more in depth that is so special, and I continue to be so honored and thankful that they're all more than willing to share their lives with us all!
SiriRadha Khalsa:


Age: 21
Location: Originally from Leverett Mass, but currently in Boulder, Colorado
Occupation and dream job: Currently a full time student at Naropa University. I am working on getting a job but don’t have one right now. I have always had a passion for working with children and honestly cannot wait to have a family of my own. I want to work towards becoming some sort of therapist or life coach specifically for prenatal mothers. I want to guide mothers through a healthy pregnancy using yoga, meditation, exercise, and diet as tools to create a happy and uplifting environment for mothers and their babies.

1.What’s the craziest thing you have ever done?
It is really hard to think of THE craziest thing I’ve ever done. But I guess in the grand scheme of my life, going to an international boarding school in India without my parents since I was eight years old was pretty crazy. I lived in India on and off until I graduated high school so I practically grew up there. I feel really grateful to have been able to travel so far at such a young age and make so many friends from all over the world!

2.If you could live in a book, TV show, or movie, what would it be?
I think if I could live in a book, TV show, or movie, I would either choose Friends or New Girl. I know both of these shows are relatively uneventful, but that is why I would choose them. I love watching them because they are so simple. It is all about laughs and fun in those shows and I would love living in a world free of “real life problems” that can so often stress me out and make me feel really anxious.

3.What’s your favorite season?
At this point in my life, any season that is not winter is great! Ha! I have become so cynical about being cold all the time. But I really do love fall. New England becomes such a magical place in the fall. Between my birthday, the incredible foliage, and the county fairs, it’s pretty hard not to love it.

4.Where do you feel the most at peace/calm?
I feel the most at peace and calm when I am with my friends and family. I love a crowded house full of familiar faces. That is when I can be my complete self, and that is when I am the happiest.

5.Favorite Ice cream flavor?
This is a tough question for me because I recently went dairy free and I LOVE ice cream. My favorite flavor is salted caramel. However, I have yet to find the perfect dairy free ice cream that is equally as delicious as the dairy options.

Christine Russell:



Age: 22
Location: Shelburne Falls, MA
Occupation and dream job: student, and women's health nurse.

1.Up to this point in your life, what do you feel the most proud of?
I feel most proud of moving past what people thought of me. I’m proud to prove them wrong and to show that where there is dedication, there is success. Getting a great education and putting 100% into being the best nurse possible is something I will always be proud of.

2. What does a perfect day look like to you?
The perfect day would start at about 830 am with a hike up sugarloaf in south Deerfield MA. And would ultimately end snuggled up with my fiancé watching a good movie.

3. Best local restaurant and favorite thing to order off of their menu?
Oh gosh, I can't possibly pick one so here's two: Alina's Ristorante in Hadley MA and India House in Northampton MA. At Alina's I ALWAYS get the chicken Marsala on a bed of pasta with a local vegetable! India house makes the absolute best Tikka Masala (aka a creamy curry sauce) with chicken and rice.

4. All time favorite place to go on vacation?
Key west has my heart when it comes to my absolute favorite vacation spot.

5. If you could trade lives with one person for an entire day who would it be and why?
Personally, I wouldn't trade a day with anyone. Everyone has daily struggles and I wouldn't trade mine for the world.

Kristan Rogers:



Age: 28
Location: Searsport, Maine
Occupation: Photographer Dream Job: Honestly, my dream job is to be a stay at home mom, and I'm very grateful to have a husband who supports that!

1. What's your favorite part about living in Maine?
My favorite part about living in Maine is being able to explore its beauty everyday. Living just a stones throw away from the ocean is a dream. Beach combing and collecting sea glass and sea pottery is my favorite thing to do at low tide. Not only is it relaxing, but the excitement you feel when your eye catches a beautiful piece is unexplainable.

2. What is your favorite meal to cook?
Oh gosh... Favorite meal to cook? I don't think I can choose. I'm such a foodie, so I'm always trying new things and changing up old recipes. I love going out to eat, trying something new, and then coming home and trying to replicate the flavors. However, my go to meals are always Asian inspired, it's like my comfort food.

3. What advice would you give your younger self?
I would tell myself not to waste my time and money on college. Now, hear me out... This is not advice I would give to everyone. There are certain career paths that require a college education. If that's something you want, strive with all of your might and it will pay off. For me on the other hand, I realized that because of my many passions it was hard for me to pinpoint what I wanted to study and do for the rest of my life. I tried the graphic design path and after a year in college and almost $20,000 in the hole, it wasn't what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I realized after that I didn't have to pick one thing to be for the rest of my life, I really could do it all. I have a photography business, I'm starting an Etsy shop, I sell my crafts on the side, and eventually my husband and I would like to start up a coffee roaster/cafe.

4. What's the #1 thing on your bucket list?
My bucket list is full of places I want to travel to, so it's hard to pick a number 1. I would absolutely love to take a road trip around the U.S. And see all that it has to offer.

5. What are you most thankful for?
I'm most thankful for my amazing husband. Life really just wouldn't be the same without him. I have truly found my other half.

Heather Blackmun:



Age: 28
Location: Stoneham, MA
Occupation and dream job: 1st grade special education co teacher (dream job accomplished)!

1. What is your favorite season?
Summer is my all time favorite season because my mom’s whole side of the family shares a lake house in Wolfeboro, NH. There are so many memories growing up and special times with my grandfather (we called him Baba). He would take us swimming in the rain, give us candy before dinner, and always treat for ice cream. He told the best stories and was so goofy and fun.

2. Do you have any hobbies?
Horseback riding, swimming, painting, reading, and drawing!

3. What’s the most important life lesson you’ve learned so far?
Pay it forward by always being humble and kind even when it is not returned. I also love something my boyfriend Nate always says, “work to live, don’t live to work”, life is too valuable and short to be working all of the time. Make time for adventures and experiences.

4. All time favorite dessert?
I love chocolate mouse and cheesecake. It’s even better when they are combined!

5. If you were given the opportunity to move anywhere in the world, where would you go?
Australia!

I hope your weekends are filled with joy and lots of laughter! Thank you for reading!

Love always,
Michaela 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Design by | SweetElectric